Determining Personal Injury Fault in Georgia
There’s one question many people share about personal injury lawsuits: “Can the other party blame me for the incident?” For example, if you were hit by a car as a pedestrian and you file a personal injury case, could the driver then turn the case around on you because you were jaywalking?
Georgia’s comparative fault law helps protect you in cases such as these. The court will do more than evaluate which party is at fault — they will consider how much fault each party may have. In the example above, the court may determine that you were 30% at fault because you were jaywalking. If the settlement resulted in a $100,000 payout, you would collect $70,000, or 70%, of the reward.
In the state of Georgia, you have two years after the incident to file a personal injury lawsuit. However, our attorneys recommend that you begin your case as quickly as possible. Doing so will help you receive the settlement you deserve — faster.